Draama 2023

Rather Not

Von Krahl Theatre/Ekspeditsioon

Rather Not foto
Foto: Herkko Labi
      07.09.2021       at 7.30 p.m.
The Harbour Theatre
     08.09.2021       at 6.30 pm.
The Harbour Theatre (English translation)
The performance is based on a stage play written by Taavi Eelma after being inspired by Herman Melville’s short story “Bartleby, the Scrivener” (1853). In an ordinary copying office, people are working hard and all work-related joys ranging from being in the same office to having a pleasant lunch are encouraged. To add a sense of ceremony, the office manager introduces special rituals which add an emotional value to everyday work. As the amount of work increases, the office is forced to find a new copier and their arrival means that the work will be done even more efficiently. But the new employee does something that no one was expecting. Something that no one has done before. The pillars of the world as they know it start shaking and the voice of the people gets riddled with anger. Melville’s “Bartleby, the Scrivener” was written over 150 years ago but it still feels timely. This text has influenced not only literature (Franz Kafka, Albert Camus, etc) but also philosophy and contemporary social theory. Slavoj Žižek claimed that the the central conflict in “Bartleby, the Scrivener” plays an essential part in the contemporary world if we wanted to think about freeing ourselves from the governing economical, ideological and other norms.

Cast: Mari Abel, Jakob Juhkam, Ingmar Jõela, Lauri Lagle, Jörgen Liik, Marika Vaarik
Authors: Herman Melville/Taavi Eelmaa
Director: Juhan Ulfsak
Composer: Jakob Juhkam
Design: Juhan Ulfsak/Kairi Mändla
Dramatist: Eero Epner
Lighting designer: Oliver Kulpsoo
Choreographer: Ingmar Jõela
Technical solutions: Rinald Kodasmaa
Sound technician: Jürgen Reismaa
Lighting technician: Mihhail Makošin
Set decorator: Kristiina Praks
Graphic designer: Allan Appelberg
Photographer: Herkko Labi
Translator: Hanno Soans

It premiered on 12th March 2020 at Von Krahl Theatre.

The performance doesn’t have an intermission and lasts for 1 hour and 45 minutes.

Juhan Ulfsak – best director award 2021 laureate
Juhan Ulfsak/Kairi Mändla – best scenographer award 2021 nominees
Marika Vaarik – best female lead award 2021 laureate
Jörgen Liiik – best supporting male award 2021 laureate
Mari Abel – best supporting female award 2021 nominee
Jakob Juhkam – best music design award 2021 laureate